Fox Chapel Road

horse-1006376_1920.jpg

Love, if it’s anything, is a polaroid of my mother,

standing at twenty-three besides a chestnut horse,

its head nestled against her shoulder.

She’s looking at something off camera,

like someone is calling her name, like a stranger.

 

 

When I was seventeen, she asked me if I had to steal

everything I had to write.

I was silent then, I didn’t know the answer,

but the truth is I probably do.

 

Like the birds that land on the house, nameless,

Writing like love is like leaving a candle to burn

in a field that someone might never see,

no one cares, none of it matters to anyone but you.

 

In my dreams last night, I dreamt of a girl

I kissed in high school, in a wooden shack

where the janitor kept brooms,

but I was nothing then, I was afraid to pull her close to me

so we listened to the river running,

 

and of my father, when his hair was still

a handful of long reeds and he looked at me,

thirty-three years year old, standing in a Toys R Us aisle,

the day my younger sister was born

that I didn’t know who I was any longer.

 

When I woke, it was the heat of late summer,

there was no light on the wall,

for years when someone asked, I would say I wanted

anyone who did not dream for months

Of the wolves who had eyes that were as black as my mother’s,

 

but this is my life

and if I had to do it again,

and draw myself from the shadows,

there are worse things that I could be.

 

Leave a comment